Wednesday, 21 August, 2019
Planets in Astrology

Planets in Astrology

Sun (Surya)
Moon (Chandra)
Mars (Mangal)
Mercury (Budha)
Jupiter (Brihaspati)
Venus (Shukra)
Saturn (Shani)
Nodes (Rahu and Ketu)
The planets in the solar system impart a significant impact on human lives. The type of divination based on the theory that the positions and movements of celestial bodies (stars, planets, sun, and moon) at the time of birth profoundly influence a person’s life, is the science of planets or Astrology in its traditional form.
The solar system consists of the Sun and other planets, which revolve around it. In total there are nine planets, which are generally considered for astronomical purposes. Now, scientists claim to locate the tenth planet, which is yet to be named. The sun is actually a star and has light of its own. All other planets get it’s light from the sun. The planets forming part of the solar system are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto. Some planets have their natural satellites, which revolves around them. In our case, the moon is our satellite and it is the closest heavenly body from earth. Therefore, its influence on human beings is quite significant. Vedic astrology considers the moon as the governor of the mind and thus the inner being itself ‘Chadrama Manaso Jaatah’. This consideration gave rise to the practice of naming a child with the corresponding Rashi or moon sign.

(c) 2007-2012 SUTRA Magazine